The Video Speaks for Itself. Marino’s Greatest Win.

16 Feb

All I knew was the score, down eleven, late in the 3rd quarter. I had been sprinting around Oberlin College all day, while visiting my progressive, feminist ladyfriend, desperately trying to find a television that wasn’t already showing French New Wave films to 20-year olds in berets. I was hugely unsuccessful in this regard, and Oberlin, Ohio wasn’t exactly the sports bar capital of the Midwest.

Frustrated, I bid my slightly crunchy, always lovely gal goodbye, and climbed in my car for the drive back to my alma mater, Denison. The gods of the airwaves threw me a bone that afternoon. By some shift in the jet stream I was able to find the Dolphins versus Patriots amid the glorious crackles of the AM radio band. There, like the sportsfans of yesteryear, I actually listened to a game. I screamed my 19-year old head off at what I heard, while blazing through the Ohio countryside at about 95 miles per hour.

It was, and I know I’m saying a mouthful here, Marino’s greatest win. His first game back from a blown achilles. The field was falling apart from the rain. I still haven’t quite forgiven myself for missing it, but seeing a little of it now helps a bit. I still had a religious experience that day, the radio blaring, windows rolled down, howling at the top of my lungs, eyes welling up at what our beloved #13 was doing 1,200 miles down the road.

GO DOLPHINS, and feel free to follow us on Twitter @thebottlenose

8 Responses to “The Video Speaks for Itself. Marino’s Greatest Win.”

  1. Dennis February 16, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    Chad Henne needs to watch this.

    • Dan Ewen February 16, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

      I don’t know. It might crush him completely.

  2. Daddio February 16, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    I remember this game well. Marino had a crappy preseason and many were willing to trade him away for a bag of peanuts for his transgressions. He answered back with a HUGE game, even running for a much needed first down late in the game. His fourth down pass for a touchdown was a thing of beauty.

    • Dan Ewen February 16, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

      Incredible pass. And his release is almost beyond belief, when you see how much mustard he put on the ball.

  3. bond, david bond February 16, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    What can anyone say; Dan marino is the greatest quarterback EVER! I am sure the new generation, after watching this video, can see why Marino will always be remembered in maiami and there will NEVER be another one like him!

    • Dan Ewen February 16, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

      Indeed. It saddens me to think there are teenaged Dolphin fans who may not truly understand what we witnessed in Miami for those many years.

  4. Rick February 17, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    What is not so funny is we couldn’t cover tight ends back then either.

    • Dan Ewen February 17, 2011 at 9:14 am #

      Ha! We made Ben Coates look like Shannon Sharpe!

      Hey, how about Mark Ingram making the big grab? Will that name be called again in Miami?

Leave a Reply

